Must Places to Experience For Foodies in Washington D.C.

This past August, I celebrated my two-year anniversary in Washington D.C.  To be honest, I can’t believe how quickly time has gone by. It is definitely true-time goes by when you’re having a good time.  Many of my favorite moments have to do with food-of course! I consider myself an expert foodie–not just a foodie–but an expert. 

Since I arrived in D.C. , I have experienced a variety of cuisines (many of it fusion while others rather authentic). D.C.’s culinary scene has changed significantly–this is coming from someone who lived in a city that thrived on its foods.  It’s become very noveau with tapas becoming hotter than ever!!  But, I definitely have my favorites.

Here they are:

  • Cork Wine Bar . To this date, Cork Wine Bar is one of my favorite hang outs. Located in the U Street Corridor,  Cork is a neighborhood Wine Bar, offering more than 100 different kinds of wines from around the world. An extremely popular hang out in the area, you may find yourself waiting for a table for a long time, but the bar and wait staff ensures that you are comfortable while you wait. While waiting for our table, we enjoyed a nice bottle of Beaujolais. The menu offers some delicious tapas dishes. My favorite had to be the grilled tomatoes marinated in balsamic dressing, roasted and placed on toasted bread.
  • Zengo. So, this concept is interesting. Zengo’s is a fusion restaurant, taking two very distinct types of cuisine and making it memorable.  Imagine, taking your favorite mexican dishes and adding a bit of Asian spice to it. Well, that’s Zengo’s.  After indulging in more than 12 dishes in total (again tapas–can you see a trend here?), the shrimp potstickers and the taco wontons had to be my favorite. The only thing you need to know about Zengo’s that you MUST  be there within 15 minutes of your reservation or you will lose you table. Keep that in mind.
  • Napoleon Bistro Lounge. If you are a fan of Champagne like me then you’ll love this place. Napoleon Bistro has a basement champagne bar in its basement. The bar offers a menu of delicious drinks like the bellini, the flirtini or the rosini–all are great.  And, if you’re looking for a great brunch place then check out Napoleon. The brunch menu offers a variety of crepes that are simply divine.
  • ACKC Cocoa Bar: If you are a chocolate fan then you definitly need to check ou ACKC. ACKC is a chocolate bar. If offers a variety of  espressos, hot chocolates and yes, chocolate dessert. I love this place especially in the winters when I am craving something warm and yummy. It’s a fun hang out after an afternoon at a museum!

So, these are some of my favorite places. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

