Dolling Up for 2010

2010 is here! I don’t think I have ever been so excited about a new year in a very long time. But, there is something special about this year–I can feel it.  Maybe it was the end of a pretty difficult year or the fabulous kick off! 

For the first time ever, I got dolled up for New Year’s Eve and it was fabulous. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve dolled up for a number of events in the past, but it had been a long time.  Since I moved to D.C. more than two years ago, my style has changed. I find myself dressing more for comfort rather than chic.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with a fabulous pair of jeans paired with a cute top and tall boots, but there is a sense of confidence that emerges when I look at myself in the mirror wearing a strapless copper dress designed paired with chocolate stilettos.  All of a sudden, I have style and pizazz.

So, I decided that 2010 was going to be a year of dolling up. No, I am not throwing away my jeans and t-shirts, but I am definitely looking at adjusting both my inner and outer styles.  So, what do I mean, you ask:

  • I am going to do participate in more activities that make me feel beautiful. So, what do I mean by this? Well, when I began to take belly dancing lessons at Saffron Belly Dancing in Clarendon, I grew confidence in myself after each lesson. The test: the ability to look in the mirror as I danced, and think “Wow! I am looking good.” I’ve decided to keep up with my belly dancing lessons.
  • Volunteer my time and share my passions. Last fall, I completed my orientation for The Reading Connection, a local nonprofit organization dedicated to improving literarcy among children in the D.C. metro area. I begin my one year volunteership as a read aloud volunteer at Virginia Gardens, a local shelter in Arlington. When living in Charleston, I had volunteered my marketing and public relation skills for many events. I served on a number of commitees, and it was fun, but this time,  I decided it was time to use additional skills or learn more.
  • Hone my current skills and don’t hesitate to try anything new: Over the holidays, I attended a post holiday party at a dear friend’s house. As we discussed our work, I mentioned that I have somewhat moved away from my traditional PR background. My friend was quick to advise not to forget about those skills. “Keep up with your pr,” she said; “You never know when you will have to use those skills again.”  She is so right!
  • Attend more events where I can dress up or make an excuse to do so. I love dressing up.  But, I find myself becoming more of a jeans girl. Jeans are great. To be honest, they can work for any occassion, but I am also beginning to become tired of wearing them–I wear them to work; I wear them at home; and, I wear them to go out. Well, where’s all the excitement!  I know how I felt when I wore that fabulous dress on New Year’s Eve, and it was obvious to the others around me. 
  • And, finally be happy with who I am. I often look in the mirror wondering what else I can do to improve myself, and yes, there are many things. But, as a woman in her 30s’ , its really time to shine. These are suppose to be the best years!

So, what’s your style? Comfort or chic?

This entry was posted in Reviews.

3 comments on “Dolling Up for 2010

  1. Jaya says:

    I am a comfort girl–but I like your confidence and enthusiasm! I would love to join one of your belly dancing classes if they would let me in for a trial class.

  2. Hi Sherrie,
    Congrats on discovering your new GLAMAZON self!
    Working at home, I seem to always be in jeans, yoga pants or gasp! sweats.
    I also glammed up for New Year’s Eve, in a
    green silk, backless, drop dead gorgeous gown that got a lot of attention at the Party!
    Now whenever I go out, I am wearing long elegant skirts, dresses with sweaters, sexy tops over pants…anything to make me feel feminine. We
    GLAMAZONS must stick together. Your Charleston, SC galpal, sharon spence lieb/The Globetrotters
    travel feature. http://www.moultrienews.com Click TRAVEL.

  3. I’ve really enjoyed reading your articles. You obviously know what you are talking about! Your site is so easy to navigate too, I’ve bookmarked it in my favourites 😀 http://balletbiblereview.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

