My Favorite Books with Wine Themes

With the official kick off of DC Wine Week just a couple of days away, I thought I would share with you some of my favorite books that relate to wine and food. Well, here they go:

  • Under the Tuscan Sun: I actually saw the movie before I read the book. And, I loved both. There was something about the combination of the pleasures of food and wine set in Tuscany. Francis Mayes takes you away in this novel, and makes you wonder-maybe I can do that one day too!
  • Almost French: An interesting story of how I came across this book. It was by chance of course. I had never heard of Sarah Turnball, a freelance journalist who met a French writer during a visit to Romania and decides to drop everything for this stranger, and who finds herself passionately in love with her new beau and new home in Paris. But, my ultimate favorite part of the book is how she finds herself having an amazing time at a friend’s party, pouring champagne and chatting up a storm, but learns later on, that she completely embarrassed beau. Talk about wine etiquette!
  • A Good Year: I have a connection to France (I don’t know what it is of course), and to the Provence region. While I have not been able to visit the one place in the world that I am destined to go, I will say, reading A Good Year by Peter Mayle, takes me away to the region each time I read it (I’ve read it more than once), can you tell?! Between trying to create an impeccable wine to the love between Max and Fannie, I couldn’t help myself but wish I was Fannie (a restaurateur in Marseilles being wooed by a handsome investment banker). But, it’s by far how wine seems to play a pivotal role throughout the book. From its pairing with foods to of course the wine making process-it’s by far a wonderful story!
  • Lunch in Paris: Again, another book I just came across.  A story of a young woman who adventures to Paris, falls in love and finds herself in awe with the food, wine and of course culture. Can you see a reoccurring theme here? Elizabeth Bard shares delicious adventures of her life in Paris.  There is something about the combination of recipes with a fabulous story.

These are by far some of my favorite books related to wine and food. What are yours?

This entry was posted in Reviews.

Leave a Reply

