Champagne Tasting at Grape + Bean Makes for a Fun Night in Old Town Alexandria

“There comes a time in every woman’s life when the only thing that helps is a glass of champagne.” ― Bette Davis

71446a6c730d11e2b74e22000a9e07d7_5I’ve always loved champagne … what woman doesn’t? So, when a friend of mine told me about a champagne tasting at Grape+ Bean in Old Town Alexandria, I immediately said “I am in.”
Upon arrival, we were given a glass of Eric Rodez Cuvee des Crayeres Champagne NV by the evening’s sommelier.  This was the perfect introduction to the night. The champagne was light and clean.  The flowery accents were not overpowering at all. Instead, they delighted my palate.

During the course of the tasting we tried several more champagnes paired with a delightful selection of cheeses, ham and pate´ (oh how I love pate´).  They were:

  • Billecart-Salmon Brut Rosé Champagne NV
  • Billecart-Salmon “Brut Reserve” Champagne NV
  • 2000 Billecart-Salmon “Cuvée Nicolas-François” Champagne
  • Eric Rodez Grand Vintage Champagne
  • Krug “Grande Cuvée” Brut Champagne NV

What I Learned:

  • I always knew that the “true” champagne always came from Champagne, France, but what I didn’t know was a ring always forms in in the glass-that’s how you can tell it’s true champagne!
  • Champagne is made from two types of grapes–Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. As we continued with the tastings, I could actually taste the intensity of the grapes.

I have enjoyed champagne for years, but I never knew why until now. As we continued with our tasting, I began to notice the similarities in the flavors, specifically the champagnes infused with fruits, such as raspberries, apples and pears (these happen to be some of my favorites).

And, while each champagne we tasted was more intense than the previous one, the flavors tended to be clean and the aromatics of each one were not overpowering.

I’ve always described my style as simple, elegant yet classic and this can be true for the foods and drinks I enjoy.

This was a fantastic tasting hosted by owners David Gwathmey and Sheera Rosenfield.They are the perfect hosts and really know how to put on a fantastic tasting.

Have you attended tastings at Grape + Bean? If not then you should definitely should.

Leave a Reply

