My Breakfast at Tiffany’s Moment in Georgetown

“What I’ve found does the most good is just to get into a taxi and go to Tiffany’s.  It calms me down right away….“–Holly Golightly

sherinthecity101(1)Well, I wasn’t standing in front of Tiffany’s in this photo nor am I anything like Truman Capote’s infamous Holly Golightly. But, like Holly, I have a place that calms me down right away–Georgetown on a weekend morning or early afternoon.

When I was in my 20s living in DC, I tended to hang out in Georgetown at night. I enjoyed late night drinks and going to the hottest lounge or club.  Well, not anymore. These days, I prefer hanging out during the mornings or early afternoons before the crowds come out.

My Favorite Things About Georgetown

  • There is a different vibe compared to the rest of the city.Georgetown is classic while other parts of DC tend to be more hip. DC hip? Yes, places like U Street and Adams Morgan have a completely different feel.  Just look at how people dress and the ambiance of the restaurants and the shops.
  • You’ll see more individuals enjoying some time to refuel rather than in large groups. Whether it’s in Dean & Deluca or at Clyde‘s. I’ve seen more people dining alone or enjoying a cup of coffee and completely content. I actually saw one women writing letters.  A rare sight in a tech savvy world.
  • The architecture is simply beautiful.  I have this thing for 18th, 19th century architecture. Maybe it’s the fact that I am from Charleston, but I just love it! It takes you to another world, another time!
  • Hearing interesting conversations where I get my hair done. Enough said.
  • Window shopping. I love meandering through Georgetown, coffee in hand, strolling down the street, looking at cool window displays.

Where do you go to unwind? What are your favorite places in the city?

Leave a Reply

