How the Washington Ballet Inspired Me to Try Dancing Again

sherinthecity052Last night I attended a performance of Cinderella by the Washington Ballet at the Kennedy Center. I love the ballet! I absolutely love it!

Cinderella was absolutely beautiful. The dancers’ performances paired so elegantly well with the music that I was actually brought to tears. Each time, I attend a ballet performance, I feel as if I am floating away from my day to day woes.

As I watched the performance, I began to think about my many tries of being a dancer. The truth is, I am a terrible a dancer. I like to say I have two left feet. When I was young I took ballet for several years, and I wasn’t very good. I blamed it on my long legs.

A couple of years ago, I tried belly dancing. I had fun, but I was so stiff and felt awkward. I remember my instructor telling me to let lose, but I just couldn’t. I was more concerned with how I looked and seeing myself in a mirror did not help.

What I didn’t realize until now is dancing comes from within and one cannot expect it to give you confidence. You must go in with confidence, and for a long time my confidence did not come from within me but from others.

I am now in my mid-30s and for the first time, I feel differently about myself, about dancing. It took awhile for me to get to this point, but I am glad I am there. So, I decided to give it a shot again soon–whether it’s going for salsa, taking another belly dancing course or even give ballet another try, I think I am ready.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

