Being Single is NOT the Same as Being Alone

“I’m an introvert… I love being by myself, love being outdoors, love taking a long walk with my dogs and looking at the trees, flowers, the sky.” — Audrey Hepburn

sherrie_nikki061I am 36 and I am single, but I am definitely not alone. I have an amazing family,  a wonderful group of friends and Nikki, my eight year old Finnish Spitz mix.

When I leave for work each morning,  she says goodbye to me at the door and when I return home she is there to greet me.

Nikki has been with me for nearly a decade. The minute our eyes met eight years ago in a local animal shelter, I knew it was love! As Anne of Green Gables would say, we were two “kindred spirits.”

When Nikki had surgery a few years ago to remove a tumor on her leg, I was scared. The word “cancer”  rocked our world. But, I remember, Nikki looking at me and in her own way, told me she was going to be ok, and she was right.nikki017

Those who have dogs understand where I am coming from. Nikki has been with me through some of the most difficult times of my life and she has also been there to celebrate the best times. Whether it’s spending a weekend afternoon the dog park, lounging at home or enjoying a road trip together, every moment we spent is precious.

I may be single, but like I said, I am definitely not alone.

This entry was posted in Reviews.

Leave a Reply

